Skip to main content

The Antioch Journey Assessment has been arranged into four competency categories:

  1. The Biblical Story (God)
  2. Cultural Stories (People)
  3. Vocation & Calling (Work)
  4. Personal Transformation & Character (Character)

Each competency category has a full description below. The four categories and various competencies are all interrelated in a very dynamic way but assessed in 4 main groups for purposes of simplicity.


1  The Biblical Story

This category demonstrates an ability to understand the comprehensive biblical story from Creation to New Creation and the ability to apply that understanding into all areas of one’s personal life and society as a whole. In particular, applying the concepts of kingship and kingdom of God into those areas.


2  Cultural Stories

This category focuses on accurate, efficient, and winsome interactions in complex cultural situations. This entails the ability to enter varied cultural situations, acquire cultural information (i.e. the cultural story), analyze that information accurately, and then use that information to interact and communicate accurately, efficiently, and winsomely. Cultural self-awareness and humility expressed as a cultural learner are foundational competencies to achieve this type of interaction.

In this discussion, “culture” refers to any level of human interaction (e.g., individual, family, business, city, people group).


3  Vocation & Calling

This category encompasses the knowledge, skills, and abilities necessary to be effective at bringing gospel transformation into various areas of society, most notably the workplace. This component includes a demonstration of a biblical understanding of the concepts of calling, vocation, and mission, as well as practical ability to bring the biblical story to bear in a manner that is both good news and demands change in any segment of society.

Underlying this section is the understanding that there are additional skills and abilities that are necessary to be effective but are outside the scope of this assessment, including 1) vocational skill sets appropriate to the occupational field and specific job and 2) language skills appropriate to the target situation.


4  Personal Transformation & Character

This competency demonstrates Christian maturity in every aspect of their person as a vital member of a local body of believers. This includes spiritual disciplines, character, stewardship, faithfulness, submission, service, healthy relationships, and wisdom.

Included in this is the ability to articulate their personal story of transformation and an adequate self-awareness (e.g. psychometrics).


Assessment Criteria:

In order to access a given competency component, the following criteria levels have been developed based on 2 Timothy 2:2.

Level 1: Capable / Interested

This is the lowest level and shows merely an interest and capability. There is neither personal experience nor the ability to multiply.

Level 2: Generally Exposed

The individual has some general exposure to the topic. There is neither personal experience nor the ability to multiply.

Level 3: Personal Understanding

The individual has at least limited experience, is demonstrating the competency in life, and is able to multiply their ability but only with assistance.

Level 4: Multiplier

The individual has significant personal experience, is demonstrating the competency regularly in life, and is able to multiply this competency in others up to a Level 3.

Level 5: Reproducing Multiplier

The individual has extensive personal experience, is demonstrating the competency regularly in life, and most significantly is able to equip others to be multipliers at a Level 4 or above.